Alumni Association Names 2013 Award Winners

June 20, 2013-


Our alumni come from all over the world, but they have one thing in common – their ability to standout for their achievements. On Friday, May 3, alumni came together during Reunion Weekend to pay tribute to five outstanding alumni, a former coach, and the 2002 Women’s Volleyball Team at the Alumni Dinner and Awards Ceremony. As a new tradition, this event presented the following honors all in one night: Distinguished Alumni Awards, Athletic Hall of Fame, Recent Alumni Service Award and Recent Alumni Award.


Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award salutes alumni whose personal lives, professional achievements, and community service reinforce our college’s mission in providing a best-in-class career focused education. Both award recipients Jonathan Tynes ’94 and Nurys Camargo ‘97 have achieved highly successful careers, as well as becoming active community leaders.

Jonathan Tynes ’94 graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Liberal Studies and went on to graduate from Northeastern University’s School of Law. He began his career in the Suffolk District Attorney’s Office in 1999 as a prosecutor in the Boston Municipal Court. Since 2006, he served as the Chief Assistant District Attorney in the Roxbury Division of the Boston Municipal Court, until recently when The Governor’s Council unanimously voted to confirm him for a judgeship in the Boston Municipal Court Roxbury Division.

Nurys Camargo ’97 graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice. She also holds a Master of Science Degree in Public Administration from Baruch College, and a certificate in Health and Human Service Management from the Latino Health Institute at Suffolk University. She is currently the Senior Policy Advisor, in the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security for the State of Massachusetts. In 2011, Nurys founded CHICA Inc., a Boston-based nonprofit organization for Latinas ages 14-18 from low-income and underserved communities in the state.
Athletic Hall of Fame and New Awards

In addition to honoring Distinguished Alumni, the Alumni Association announced the Athletic Hall of Fame inductees. These individuals are outstanding athletes who have studied and played at Mount Ida, coaches, and athletic department staff. Inductees are as follows: the 2002 Women’s Volleyball Team (Amy Abo ‘03, Dorothy Adams ‘04, Jeanette Arnold ‘06, Lauren Benson ‘06, Lisa Ginetty ‘07, Christina Nikolaidis ‘06, and Kerrie Costello ‘05), Skip Tately, and Tom Adams ‘04. Also, two new awards were unveiled at the event, including the Recent Alumni Service Award to Maureen Malavase ’01, Alumni Council President, and Recent Alumni Award to Daniel Biggins ’02. Congratulations to all of the awardees and a big thanks to our Mustang alumni for their continued support and pride in our college.